Happy Birthday

 

Miss Cynthia Brooks
Picton
Ont
Can

Le Havre, Mar 29, 17

My Dearest Cyn,

Just a line. Hope you have a pleasant birthday. Will write you later when I get time. Been on fatigue all day. Raining, I am writing this in the tent. Got your two letters yesterday. Write soon. Remember me to all at home.

Goodbye

Yours as ever
Frank

This entry was posted in The Great War. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday

  1. Christine says:

    I wonder if he got that in the UK before going to the continent – the Union Jack shield in the corner – or if the local embroiderers were being clever in what they produced!

    Were your grandfather and grandmother engaged at this time? Just curious!

    • The fact that it’s in English as well — not sure if the locals were catering to all the British and Canadian forces there, or if he picked it up before he left England in anticipation of her birthday.

      I don’t know if they were engaged or not, although obviously quite serious. I can’t recall what year they were married, I think that my dad’s oldest sibling was born in 1922.

  2. Betty says:

    I checked with Mom and she thinks they got engaged after he came home and were married in 1920. Apparently there was another child, stillborn daughter, before our uncle was born in 1922.

Leave a Reply

