June 8, 1917

Friday [Le Havre]

On fatigue all day. Feet very tough. Bright & warm. Very tired at night. Had some cocoa [?] and went to bed early.

This entry was posted in The Great War. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 8, 1917

  1. Christine says:

    I’m pretty sure that the first uncertainty is “feet”. I compared the way he wrote the letter “l” in “letters” and “sultry” and am pretty sure that the word in question looks more like “feet” than “felt”. Tough feet would have been a good thing if he was on fatigue all day!

    As for the other [???], I’m afraid I don’t have a clue! That is quite a scrawl.

  2. SherryFromSF says:

    If it were me, I would have had some “cocoa” and went to bed early! 😉

  3. Thanks, both! Feet makes more sense, given the activities. Sherry, “cocoa” is inspired — I left a question mark since it’s so unclear, but that makes as much sense as anything.

Leave a Reply

