May 10, 2013

Today would be Frank’s 121st birthday, a fitting date for the end of his journal and this blog.

After he returned home to Picton, he married Cynthia in September 1920, worked as an auto mechanic, had three sons, and died at the age of 74 in June 1967. This picture was taken in 1966.

z Frank and Cynthia 1966

No one knows what became of Hannah.

This entry was posted in The Great War. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May 10, 2013

  1. silentsgirl says:

    I’ve loved this so much – I wish we could start all over again. Thank you.

    • It is sad that it’s at an end. It’s really given me some insights into my grandfather, who I barely knew (he died before I was 7), and also inspired me to learn a lot more about the parts of the war where he was involved. Thanks for following along!

  2. Sherry From SF says:

    I will miss the daily dose of thinking about your Grandpa in the war. Thank you, Sandy. Next up — should we research Hannah? 😉

  3. Sandy

    Thanks for all your work putting this up.

    And now I am following WW2 (@RealTimeWWII – tweeting 1941 at the moment, 72 years behind – and Wold War II Today http://ww2today.com/ blogging 1943 exactly 70 years behind)

    Regards Nigel

  4. Betty says:

    I’ll miss having lunch with Grandpa every day.

Leave a Reply

